CFMIP Early Career Scientist Award

For the purpose of encouraging research activity by young researchers in CFMIP, we manage the CFMIP ECS award, which is given to the best two presentations by early career scientists who are either students or received their Ph.D. in the past five years. The award was started in 2017, partly supported by Nature Publishing Group (Nature Climate Change for 2017 and Nature Reviews Earth & Environment for 2019). We ask participants of the CFMIP meeting every year to declare if they are eligible for nomination, and the selection of winners is taken place through a fair judgement by the steering committee. CFMIP strongly recommends young researchers to attend the meeting and try to get win!

List of winners and titles of the presentation at the past CFMIP meetings are presented below.


Rachel Atlas

Vertical motions in the tropical tropopause layer: where do they come from, how do they affect cirrus, and can we model them?

Clare Singer

Extended mixed-layer theory for the stratocumulus-cumulus transition in climatology and under extreme CO2 forcing


Xiaoli Zhou

Sea surface temperature control on the aerosol-induced brightness of marine clouds over the North Atlantic Ocean --- Implications for cloud feedback in a future warmer climate

Benjamin Fildier

Observation and theory of clear-sky radiative cooling peaks in patterns of organized shallow convection


Yue Dong

Inter-model spread in CMIP5 feedback kinkiness traced to surface warming patterns

Stephen Po-Chedley

Climatological controls on the response of tropical clouds and relative humidity to greenhouse gas forcing


Angeline Pendergrass

The uneven nature of precipitation and its change

Eleanor Middlemas

Contribution of cloud radiative feedbacks and ocean dynamics to sea surface temperature variability in subtropical northeastern ocean basins


Paulo Ceppi

Contributions of climate feedbacks to changes in atmospheric circulation

Daniel McCoy

Global, convection-permitting simulations of cloud feedbacks and aerosol interactions


Updated on 23 July, 2022 by Masa Watanabe